Forums Beginner Questions ADHESIVES TO USE FOR DOPING

7 replies, 7 voices Last updated by MSackos 4 months, 2 weeks ago
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

henry
    Participant
    @Henry

I am new to faceting. In fact I am awaiting for my machine from the UltraTec. Meanwhile, I am watching videos on Utube and reading some books and articles on internet. I noticed that people use different materials for doping and different combinations of adhesives for transferring: wax-wax, wax-epoxy, epoxy-epoxy, crazy glue… What is the “right” method, easiest, and why these materials are used?

Frankwood
    Participant
    @Frankwood

If you don’t have an accurate way of centralising the preform to the dop when first dopping the stone, then wax-epoxy is the best combo.
    You can soften the wax with a BBQ lighter after putting the stone on the machine and use the dial gauge to get it central.

davidechols
    Participant
    @davidechols

I would recommend an adhesive for someone learning to facet. Using wax alone is an another skill that has to be learned. Personally I have always used wax but learning how to use can be very frustrating at first. Stones popping off. The advantages of wax is fast and cheap.

Lowjiber
    Participant
    @Lowjiber

Here are my preferences…

#1 (98% of time)… JB Weld, clear, 5-minute epoxy. Let it cure overnight.

#2 (2% of time)… Loctite 404 superglue. Used for tiny stones.

Wax? Quoth the Raven “Nevermore”.

Happy Faceting.

John

bthomason
    Participant
    @bthomason