Forums Beginner Questions Contaminated Lap?/Over Cutting Facets During Polishing

42 replies, 10 voices Last updated by gemmakermz 2 years, 8 months ago
Viewing 42 reply threads
  • Author

hray
      Participant
      @hray

I am just getting started with faceting, and have some questions about laps. I suspect my laps might be contaminated as they are very old and I am noticing some deep scratches that aren’t coming out in the polishing stage. I have read that sometimes you can remove contamination by washing the laps off. Is there a certain method to this? How do I avoid contamination in the future? Is it enough to wipe the stone clean before changing to a finer grit? Also, when polishing, do I need a master lap to go under the spectra ultra laps, or can I just put the film on top of my pre-polish lap? Is it advantageous to use a maser lap under a cutting/polishing tin lap?

When trying to polish a citrine, the more I tried to get the scratches out the more my meets went past their point. Is there always this much cutting that happens during the polishing stage, or is it because I am not using a master under my cerium film? Is it advisable to have the points be just short of meeting in the cutting or pre-polishing stage, so that polishing doesn’t cause them to cut too deep?

davidechols
      Participant
      @davidechols

An old cutter years ago told me to use lava soap and I did and have for many years on both cutting and polishing laps for contamination. Polishing will move meets if done too much. Practice and more stones and polish and meets will get better. I would advise anyone starting to facet not too fret too much about meets but focus on getting the polish right. Good meets with good polish will come after some more stones. In other words take it in stages. Learn machine and cutting, then focus on polishing without worrying too much on perfect meets until you master getting a good polish. It will come together later.

Alan Balmer
      Keymaster